The International Society for Solid State Ionics (ISSI) congratulates the laureates for 2019 in chemistry,

John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino


The Nobel prize in chemistry for 2019 was awarded the three laureates for their contributions for the development of lithium-ion batteries. We know the three as outstanding scientists and colleagues and friends, now as before contributing actively in a range of areas and for the benefit of the scientific community of solid-state chemistry and electrochemistry. Their work has and will continue to have immense impact for a sustainable planet, and the prize is well and long deserved. On behalf of the International Society for Solid State Ionics (ISSI) and its membership I gratefully and proudly congratulate the three laureates with their Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019.

Truls Norby

President, ISSI