Perspectives on the ISSI 

Much has happened in our field since the founding of our Society on September 8, 1987, in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany at the 6th International Conference on Solid State Ionics. The promise of high energy density batteries has been fulfilled with lithium batteries now powering our laptops, cell phones and even motor vehicles.   Concerns about global warming have accelerated the demand for alternative means for capturing and storing solar and other forms of renewable energy as well as for the detection and monitoring of emissions. Our field of Solid State Ionics is well poised to provide efficient and cost effective solutions, if we as a community, can make rapid and synergistic progress combining advances in theory, experiment, computation towards device development and scale up on the types of devices illustrated in the above figure. More recent developments hold promise for future micro and nanoelectronic devices in which ion motion can be applied to create extremely fast and highly dense memory elements. Finally, it is fair to say that life itself depends on ion motion through membranes, and this interface between biology and solid state ionics is itself an exciting frontier that individuals in our field are just beginning to seriously address.


Recent Initiatives

ISSI has in recent years been working towards providing a more direct interface with members of the Society as well as providing them with useful resources. Several of these activities include:

  • Incorporating the Society as a stand alone Non-profit Corporation with ability to handle its own finances
  • Building on our success in recognizing outstanding contributions from young scientists active in the Solid State Ionics field via the Young Scientist Award Program to include the new ISSI Mid Career Research Award (Prof. Clare P. Grey) and the ISSI Senior Scientist Award Prof. M. Stanley Whittingham) –
  • Establishing a permanent, more user-friendly Website highlighting latest developments in the field of Solid State Ionics and providing means for members to provide feedback to the Society
  • Organizing the International Conference on Solid State Ionics to address both current and crosscutting trends in the field. As one indication of success, SSI-21 being held in Padua, Italy June 18-23, 2017, has attracted, we believe to be the largest number of registrants, by a significant number, in its history
  • The next International Conference on Solid State Ionics (SSI-22) will be held in PyeongChang, Korea, June 16-21, 2019.
    The conference website:

We look forward to receiving your input as to how the ISSI might further advance services to its members and the broader SSI community.


ISSI Board Members

The ISSI board members are currently as follows:

     Prof. Truls Norby, Norway
Vice President:
     Prof. Bilge Yildiz, USA
Immediate Past President:
     Prof. Han-Ill Yoo, Korea
     Prof. Jong-Ho Lee, Korea
     Prof. Koji Amezawa, Japan
Councilors form Asia/Pacific Rim:
     Prof. Yasutoshi Iriyama, Japan
     Prof. Hitoshi Takamura, Japan
     Prof. Hangxin Liu, China
Councilors form Europe:
     Prof. Rotraut Merkle, Germany
     Prof. John T. S. Irvine, U. K.
     Prof. Peter Vang Hendriksen, Denmark
Councilors form America:
     Prof. Nicola H. Perry, USA
     Prof. Ryan O'Hayre, USA 
Councilors form Any Region:
     Prof. Sossina Haile, USA


ISSI Past Presidents

The ISSI Leadership heralds from the most highly renowned and respected individuals from across the globe:

2017-2019: Prof. Han-Ill Yoo, Korea

2015-2017: Prof. Harry L. Tuller, USA

2013-2015: Prof. Joachim Maier, Germany

2011-2013: Prof. Shu Yamaguchi, Japan

2009-2011: Prof. M. Stanley Whittingham, USA

2007-2009: Prof. Klaus Funke, Germany

2005-2007: Prof. Tsutomu Minami, Japan

2003-2005: Prof. Subhash Singhal, USA

2001-2003: Prof. Joop Schoonman, The Netherlands

1999-2001: Prof. Hiroyasu Iwahara, Japan

1997-1999: Prof. Wayne Worrell, USA

1995-1997: Prof. Werner Weppner, Germany

1993-1995: Prof. Osamu Yamamoto, Japan

1991-1993: Prof. Gregory Farrington, USA

1989-1991: Prof. Bruno Scrosati, Italy

1987-1989: Prof. Robert Huggins, USA