The 7th ISSI Young Scientist Award (YSA)




The 24th International Conference on Solid State Ionics (SSI-24) to be held in London, UK, July 2024, is co-organized by International Society for Solid State Ionics (ISSI) and the  local organizing committee. In order to recognize the outstanding contributions made by young scientists to Solid State Ionics in past years, ISSI instituted the “ISSI Young Scientist Award (YSA)” in 2011. This award will be presented again at the upcoming SSI-24.


The nominee for this award must not have reached his/her 36th birthday on or before 1 July 2024. A nominee must have done interdisciplinary, innovative research, demonstrating a high level of excellence and distinction. The said research work must represent a significant contribution to the development and fundamental understanding of topics of relevance to SSI.


The award consists of a US $5,000 prize and an award certificate. The number of award winners shall be one, and up to a maximum of two, but only if appropriate candidates are found. In case of multiple awardees, the prize of US $5,000 will be equally divided amongst the winners. No travel grant specific to the award contest will be provided by ISSI (but the candidates may be eligible to receive travel funds provided separately by the meeting organizer).


Those who wish to be considered for the 7th ISSI YSA must submit their nomination via the ISSI website: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Peer- and organizational- nominations are also welcome, subject to the nominee agreeing to the terms and conditions of the award.

The submitted nomination package must provide the following:

1.  Curriculum Vitae (2-page maximum) including date of birth

2.  List of recent key publications (2-page maximum)

3.  Summary of achievements, awards and honors (1-page maximum)

4.  Name and brief credentials of the three scientists whom nominee has contacted to provide confidential support letters, highlighting the creativity of the nominee and the impact that his or her research work has achieved. These letters must be sent by the supporters via the ISSI website:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for the nomination to be considered.


Nominations will be accepted through February 1, 2024. Nominations are active for one year. Please contact via This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. should you have technical difficulties or other submission concerns.


The Awards Committee, selected by the ISSI President, will select finalists for the final evaluation by oral presentation at SSI-24 and all applicants will be notified of the results by 31 March 2024. The finalists are requested to deliver their presentations at the YSA session at SSI-24 which is dedicated for this purposefor the final evaluation of the selection process. The winner(s) will be selected during SSI-24 and will be awarded the ISSI Young Scientist Award at the closing ceremony of SSI-24 on July 19, 2024. The decision of the ISSI Awards Committee is final and no further inquiries will be entertained.


2024 will mark the 24th SSI conference at which the 7th Young Scientist Award is presented. Previous winners are as follows:


         Dr. George Harrington 
         Presentation: “The intricacies of defect transport in thin films”

         Dr. Haegyum Kim
         Presentation: “Accelerating materials discovery for sustainable energy storage”


         Dr. Yan Chen
         Presentation: “Understanding and controlling the interfaces in electro-catalysts.”


         Dr. Wolfgang Zeier
         Presentation: “On the Ambiguous Influence of Soft Lattices on Ionic Transport.”

         Dr. Yiyang Li
         Presentation: “Kinetics of Lithium Ion Insertion in Individual Battery Particles”

2015 (2 co-winners)

Dr. Sean R. Bishop
Presentation: "Chemo-mechanics of oxide ion conductors"

Dr. Ethan Crumlin
Presentation: "It's all about the Interface!"

2013 (2 co-winners)

Dr. William Chueh
Presentation: "Shining Light on Surface Electrochemistry in Mixed Conductors."

Dr. Naoaki Yabuuchi
Presentation: "Functional Insertion Materials for Advanced Rechargeable Batteries; Toward Sustainable Energy Development."


(YSA not awarded)


(YSA not awarded)


(YSA not awarded)

2005 (2 co-winners)

Dr. Jennifer Rupp
Presentation: "XXX"

Dr. Rolle (?)
Presentation: "XXX"